Skip to main content

Ferry replacement program complete and temporary closure of the Walker Flat Ferry

11 October 2018

“Boobook” is the final of four new steel-hull ferries to be entered into passenger service.

As part of this program, four ageing timber-hulled ferries with load restrictions were removed from service with the fleet free from any load restrictions since late 2017 at the 12 River Murray ferry crossings at 11 locations in South Australia.

In order to facilitate the commissioning of the new ferry, there will be a temporary closure of the Walker Flat Ferry service from 9am, Tuesday, 16 October to 4pm, Wednesday, 17 October, weather permitting.

Alternative crossings will be: the Swan Reach Ferry (upstream), and the Purnong Ferry (downstream).

All four new steel-hull ferries were built by local Mid-Murray family business Bowhill Engineering and the Department’s team at the Morgan dockyard.

Ferries have been operating in South Australia since 1839 and have formed a vital part of our road traffic network along the River Murray, providing a means for freight, commuters, tourists and all road users to cross the river safely and conveniently

The $12.8 million program to renew the River Murray fleet commenced in 2014 and has reached its anticipated completion date of 2018.