Skip to main content

Phase Two

The second phase of South Australia’s new planning system comes into effect July 2020

In July 2020 the Planning, Development and Infrastructure Act 2016 will become operational for all rural councils with small towns and settlements, revoking relevant country development plans.

The implementation of Phase Two is the second milestone in delivering a new planning and development system for the state's rural areas and is on track for implementation on 31 July 2020.

Areas impacted

Phase Two will see the new planning system switch on for rural councils with small towns and settlements. This excludes regional towns and cities in rural areas.

List and map of council areas included in Phase Two (PDF, 945 KB)

How you can get involved

The Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure will work closely with relevant councils to convert existing development plans to the Planning and Design Code.

You can login to Council Connect as a local government planner

Draft policy for the Planning and Design Code that applies to Phase Two councils (rural areas) was on consultation from 1 October 2019 to 29 November 2019 for 8 weeks.

Page last modified Friday, 5 June 2020