Skip to main content

Phase Three

The third phase of South Australia’s new planning system will become operational in July 2020. 

In July 2020, the Planning, Development and Infrastructure Act 2016 will become operational for all metropolitan council areas, revoking all existing metropolitan development plans.

The implementation of Phase Three is the final milestone in delivering a new planning and development system for the state by July 2020, replacing all operations under the Development Act 1993 with the new legislation.

On 1 July 2019, Phase One of the PDI Act implementation became operational for outback areas

Areas impacted

Phase Three will see the new planning system switch on in all metropolitan council areas. Metropolitan communities, councils and industry professionals will all use the new planning system under the PDI Act along with the rest of South Australians.

View a map of metropolitan council areas included in Phase Three (PDF, 1062 KB)

How you can get involved

The Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure will work closely with metropolitan councils to convert existing Development Plans to the Planning and Design Code.

You can login to Council Connect as a local government planner

All South Australians will have the opportunity to have their say on the draft Planning and Design Code during a public consultation period.

Have your say on public consultation matters

Page last modified Tuesday, 9 July 2019