Skip to main content

New Mitsubishi Triton rises to 5 stars - mix of 4 and 5 stars for other marques

CONNECT - Message from the Chief Executive

16 April 2015

ANCAP has issued the new generation Mitsubishi Triton with a 5 star ANCAP safety rating.

Adopted from European (Euro NCAP) crash tests, 5 star ratings have also been issued to the BMW i3, Land Rover Discovery Sport, Renault Captur and Tesla Model S. The BMW 2 Series Active Tourer and Mini Cooper have scored 4 stars.

The first in a range of new light commercial vehicles (LCV) entering the Australasian market this year, the Mitsubishi Triton utility has risen to the top rating. This 5 star ANCAP safety rating applies to all Triton variants (all cab styles, engines and driven wheels).

"In terms of safety, LCVs continue to lag passenger vehicles with 57 per cent of LCVs sold holding the maximum 5 star ANCAP safety rating. In comparison, 90 per cent of new passenger vehicles sold are 5 star rated,” said DPTI General Manager Safety and Policy Programs, Julie Holmes.

RAA Senior Manager Mobility and Automotive Policy, Mark Borlace said that this 5 star rating for the high selling Triton is a great achievement as this will translate to increased safety on our roads.

Other ratings released today cover:

  • BMW i3 (all variants) - 5 stars
  • Land Rover Discovery Sport (2.2 litre diesel variants) - 5 stars
  • Renault Captur (3 cylinder petrol variants) - 5 stars*
  • Tesla Model S (all variants) - 5 stars
  • BMW 2 Series Active Tourer (3 cylinder petrol variants) - 4 stars
  • Mini Cooper (3 door hatch variants) - 4 stars

The Mini Cooper and BMW 2 Series Active Tourer both fell short of reaching the top rating, failing to reach minimum thresholds in the side impact and frontal offset tests respectively.

To view individual crash test results for more than 515 vehicles, learn more about safety features and technologies, and explore interactive features, visit To watch videos and download images and media releases, go to
ANCAP is supported by all Australian and New Zealand motoring clubs, the Australian Government, the New Zealand Government, Australian state and territory governments, the Victorian Transport Accident Commission, NRMA Insurance and the FIA Foundation.