Skip to main content

Rail Network

The South Australian Department of Planning Transport and Infrastructure (DIT) on behalf of the Rail Commissioner maintains all rail infrastructure and provides tram and train services within metropolitan Adelaide.

Fast facts

Adelaide’s passenger rail network comprises 132 kilometres of railway track on the Seaford, Gawler, Outer Harbor, Belair, Grange and Tonsley Lines, including 40 kilometres of electrified railway, 88 railway stations, 84 level crossings, 22 electric railcar sets and 70 diesel railcars.

The rail network also includes 16.5 kilometres of 600 volt tramline, 33 tram stops, 15 flexity trams and nine citadis trams.

Railway Crossing Safety Strategy

Download the Railway Crossing Safety Strategy. (PDF, 1305 KB)